Home Latest News Button Blasts to Victory in OZ

Button Blasts to Victory in OZ


What a thrilling start to the 2012 season! This race had more action than you could shake a stick at. Jenson Button took ultimate victory asserting McLaren as the team to beat so far this year. Lewis Hamiltion was beaten off the line by his team mate after a poor start and then fell victim to Vettel’s timing when a safety car was deployed. The biggest shock is just how many competitive cars there are on the grid this year, what isn’t a surprise is that HRT failed to make the grid after not qualifying within 107%. Here are the results…

1. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes

2. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault

3. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes

4. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault

5. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari

6. Kamui Kobayashi Japan Sauber-Ferrari

7. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Lotus-Renault

8. Sergio Perez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari

9. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Toro Rosso-Ferrari

10. Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes

11. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Ferrari

12. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes

13. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault

14. Timo Glock Germany Virgin-Cosworth

15. Charles Pic France Virgin-Cosworth

16. Bruno Senna Brazil Williams-Renault

DNF. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari

DNF. Heikki Kovalainen Finland Caterham-Renault

DNF. Vitaly Petrov Russia Caterham-Renault

DNF. Michael Schumacher Germany Mercedes-Mercedes

DNF. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault

DNF. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Force India-Mercedes