Home Latest News F1 Driver Numbers Assigned for 2014

F1 Driver Numbers Assigned for 2014


Ferrari 2013 BrazilFor 2014 the world of Formula One is being turned on its head with the biggest changes to the sport in living memory. New aerodynamic rules, the introduction of ERS, the standardisation of exhaust exists meaning no team can take advantaged of the hot gases influencing various parts of the car, and the list goes on… One of the less technical changes involves the drivers numbers that they were, up until now, assigned at the beginning of the season.

Driver numbers for 2014 have been selected by the drivers themselves as they are now to keep them for their career. Drivers who finished higher in the rankings in the 2013 season took priority in picking a number from 2-99. Car number 1 is given to the world champion, in this case Sebastian Vettel. Jenson Button has chosen 22 as that was the number on his car when he won the 2009 drivers world title. Fernando Alonso has chose 14 because his kart as a teenager sported the same numbers.


1* Sebastian Vettel

3 Daniel Ricciardo

44 Lewis Hamilton

6 Nico Rosberg

14 Fernando Alonso

7 Kimi Raikkonen

8 Romain Grosjean

13 Pastor Maldonado

22 Jenson Button

20 Kevin Magnussen

27 Nico Hulkenberg

11 Sergio Perez

99 Adrian Sutil

21 Esteban Gutierrez

25 Jean-Eric Vergne

26 Daniil Kvyat

19 Felipe Massa

77 Valtteri Bottas

17 Jules Bianchi

? Max Chilton

Caterham have yet to announce their drivers for 2014.