Home Latest News Hamilton Takes Pole in Wet China

Hamilton Takes Pole in Wet China


Mercedes Lewis Hamilton China 2014As predicted, the qualifying session for the 2014 Chinese Grand Prix was a wet affair. The umbrellas came out and waterproofs were donned as the drivers mounted up and headed to the track. These tricky conditions amplified the lack of downforce that the 2014 cars have over their predecessors with many drivers going off of the tarmac due to a lack of grip. Marco Mattiacci started the weekend with a smile on his face as the pressure of becoming Ferrari’s new team boss was relived by genuine pace from the red cars. Lotus’ bad luck continued with Pastor Maldonardo unable to take part in qualifying as issues with his car left it out of action. Hamilton Takes Pole in Wet China.

As Q2 progressed we continued to see drivers taking the scenic route on many corners including world champion Sebastian Vettel. That said, the speed of Red Bull was clear for all to see and no doubt encouraged the team who lost Ricciardo’s appeal against disqualification in Australia. Raikkonen again struggled with his Ferrari F14 T and didn’t quite make it into Q3.

Where Mercedes as quick as expected? Of course they were as the season favourites continuously clocked in with impressive times. McLaren were notably absent from the top ten shootout after both drivers complained of being unable to heat their tyres. The remaining Lotus piloted by Romain Gorjean at least managed to enter Q3 for the first time this year. In the closing minutes Red Bull were looking impressive with both drivers battling for the front row, but Lewis Hamilton blitzed the timing boards with a lap over a second faster than everyone else. His team mate, Rosberg, also looked on good form until he spun on the last corner of a hot lap bringing out a red flag. He qualified 4th for the race.

Tomorrows race has the potential to be a real battle of the old masters VS the new. Red Bull VS Mercedes.

1. Lewis Hamilton

2. Daniel Ricciardo

3. Sebastian Vettel

4. Nico Rosberg

5. Fernando Alonso

6. Felipe Massa 

7. Valtteri Bottas

8. Nico Hulkenberg

9. Jean-Eric Vergne

10. Romain Grosjean

11. Kimi Raikkonen

12. Jenson Button 

13. Daniil Kvyat 

14. Adrian Sutil

15. Kevin Magnussen

16. Sergio Perez

17. Esteban Gutierrez 

18. Kamui Kobayashi 

19. Jules Bianchi  

20. Marcus Ericsson  

21. Max Chilton

22. Pastor Maldonado