Home Latest News Lady Luck Intervenes in Monaco Qualifying

Lady Luck Intervenes in Monaco Qualifying


Rosberg Monaco 2014As the speeding bullet train of Formula One enters Monte Carlo each season, the sport hits fever pitch. The teams and drivers have now had a good period of time to get used to these new 2014 turbocharged cars meaning that the gloves are indeed off. It’s not just the prestige of Monaco, but the challenge that the drives relish in. Skimming the barriers at insane speed, only the very best in the world can put together the perfect lap. However, today lady luck intervened in Monaco Qualifying.

Daniil Kvyat and his Toro Rosso team very nearly went bust down by the harbour when his car experienced a mighty tank slapper. The Russian was a lucky boy that his car only suffered minor nose damage in his dramatic series of slides. As the roulette wheels started spinning once again and lap times started to tumble, it was Williams Felipe Massa who bet on red and it came up black. Whilst letting Ericsson’s car past in Q2, the Caterham lost control and ended up crashing into Massa. Another opportunity wasted for the Brazilian.

By the time Q3 came about things were getting spicy as the most important pole position of the year came up for grabs. Both Red Bulls were looking composed on the streets of Monaco but we all knew that the ultimate battle would be between the dominant Mercedes drivers. Both Ferrari’s and the McLaren of Magnussen spared in the lower half of the top ten. As the final few minutes counted down the margin between the Merc’s was tiny with Rosberg leading Hamilton. Both drivers began their final do or die laps but the pressure got to Nico Rosberg who locked up and disappeared into an escape road. Could Hamilton do the job? It wasn’t to be as yellow flags from his team mates incident just ahead of him denied what could have been pole position. The atmosphere between the two after was frosty to say the least…

1. Nico Rosberg

2. Lewis Hamilton

3. Daniel Ricciardo

4. Sebastian Vettel

5. Fernando Alonso

6. Kimi Raikkonen

7. Jean-Eric Vergne

8. Kevin Magnussen

9. Daniil KvyatRussia

10. Sergio Perez

11. Nico Hulkenberg

12. Jenson Button

13. Valtteri Bottas

14. Romain Grosjean

15. Pastor Maldonado

16. Felipe Massa

17. Esteban Gutierrez

18. Adrian Sutil

19. Jules Bianchi

20. Max Chilton

21. Kamui Kobayashi

22. Marcus Ericsson