Home Latest News Lewis Hamilton Becomes Most Successful British Driver in History

Lewis Hamilton Becomes Most Successful British Driver in History


Hamilton USA GPFormula One headed to the lone star state of Texas as the closing races of the season take place. 2014 has been a dramatic year for Formula One with all-new cars and technologies to get to grips with, changes in team pecking orders and now the apparent loss of two F1 teams. Neither Marussia or Caterham attended this latest grand prix due to financial difficulties which look like they are set to continue. Last race Mercedes wrapped up the constructors world title, another more personal milestone was achieved by Lewis Hamilton in the US as he became the most successful British driver in history.

With fewer car than usual on the grid you would expect a trouble free start, however, that was not to be. As Vettel started from the pits and everyone else cleared the first corner cleanly, it was later in the lap a safety car was brought out after a clumsy move by Perez which involved Kimi’s Ferrari and a Sauber. The bunching up on the grid brought Vettel back into contention. Upon restart Rosberg still led Hamilton with the two Williams cars keeping pace. Daniel Ricciardo was on impressive form this weekend calving up the field after a poor start. He finished third overall. Rosberg pitted on lap 16 whilst Lewi Hamilton held on a little longer. A foreshadowing battle between current McLaren Driver, button, and his potential replacement, Alonso, broke out. Neither were willing to give in but the Brit in his struggling McLaren could not match the improving Ferrari. On lap 24 Hamilton made a decisive move on Rosberg squeezing him wide whilst taking the lead. Lewis’ performance throughout the race was faultless. From that point he simply drove away from his teammate.

Mathematically it is now only possible for one of the Mercedes drivers to win the 2014 title. Which one? With double points it will be the last race that decides this.

1. Lewis Hamilton
2. Nico Rosberg
3. Daniel Ricciardo
4. Felipe Massa
5. Valtteri Bottas
6. Fernando Alonso
7. Sebastian Vettel
8. Kevin Magnussen
9. Pastor Maldonado
10. Jean-Eric Vergne

11. Romain Grosjean
12. Jenson Button
13. Kimi Raikkonen
14. Esteban Gutierrez
15. Daniil Kvyat

Rtd Nico Hulkenberg
Rtd Sergio Perez
Rtd Adrian Sutil