Home Latest News Mercedes become F1 Constructors Champions

Mercedes become F1 Constructors Champions


2014 Russian GP startThere was a lot of speculation that it might happen and then various broadcasters were threatened with a blackout of coverage, but in the end the first Russian Grand Prix went ahead. With challenges such as a new surface, unknown layout and big temperature differentials between the beginning and end of the race, the teams had to learn quickly. Lewis Hamilton claimed pole position the day before and as usual Nico Rosberg sat right alongside him. If Mercedes could score enough point this race, regardless of what any other team did in subsequent events, they would become F1 constructors champions.

Lights out in Sochi was met with immediate drama. Both Mercedes got a good start but in the longest run down to the first corner on the F1 calendar, Rosberg managed to lead Hamilton. However, this was short lived as the German left breaking too late, locking his tyres and screeching off of the track. The deformed rubber was causing so much vibration that he then had to immediately pit forcing him to make the new tyres last. Both McLarens, which have struggled all season, came to life showing true promise. Button claimed third in the opening laps as Magnussen battled his way up the field. The Toro Rosso team was another which had good pace, particularly Danni Kvyat who was on home soil. Hamilton streaked ahead of the pack controlling the race as he saw fit. Bottas’ Williams was quick but no match for the might of the Mercedes. Rosberg, after others pitted, dealt with the leading Williams to take second. An impressive recovery from Nico.

A strong finish from McLaren in fourth and fifth was great. It is good to see the British team making progress. However, this race was all about Mercedes as they became F1 Constructors champions.

1. Lewis Hamilton

2. Nico Rosberg

3. Valtteri Bottas

4. Jenson Button

5. Kevin Magnussen

6. Fernando Alonso

7. Daniel Ricciardo

8. Sebastian Vettel

9. Kimi Raikkonen

10. Sergio Perez

11. Felipe Massa

12. Nico Hulkenberg

13. Jean-Eric Vergne

14. Daniil Kvyat

15. Esteban Gutierrez

16. Adrian Sutil

17. Romain Grosjean

18. Pastor Maldonado

19. Marcus Ericsson

Rtd. Kamui Kobayashi

Rtd Max Chilton