Home Latest News Monaco Grand Prix Win for Rosberg

Monaco Grand Prix Win for Rosberg


Rosberg Monaco win 2014People have been saying that this would happen since the beginning of the season. The Mercedes team find themselves with an extraordinarily good package and two star drivers cable of delivering the goods. Sounds like the perfect recipe for championship victory, that is until your drivers start to clash. With Rosberg’s controversial pole position, the atmosphere between the German and Lewis Hamilton had not improved over night. With Monaco being the most important track to be first on the grid, Hamilton was eager to get even and win this race against his team mate. It didn’t work out that way and so tensions rise once again… Monaco Grand Prix Win for Rosberg

The tight technical details of Monte Carlo meant that whilst Mercedes were strong, their advantage was nowhere near as big as in pervious races. Both Red Bull and Ferrari started strongly as Rosberg retained his lead from Hamilton. Kimi Raikkonen split the two Red Bull’s but it took less than a lap before the safety car was called out after a Sauber was spun out. Upon restarting, four times world champion sebastian Vettel had to retire his car due to mechanical issues. The second Sauber of Sutil crashed upon exiting the tunnel bringing out yet another safety car. Released once more the pack surged on. Hamilton keen to hunt down Rosberg was continuously asking for information about his team mates pace. However, his vision in his left eye was impaired by some dirt thus hindering his performance. Rosberg took victory and the lead of the championship, but it was a strong drive from Daniel Ricciardo who finished third for Red Bull.

1. Nico Rosberg

2. Lewis Hamilton

3. Daniel Ricciardo

4. Fernando Alonso

5. Nico Hulkenberg

6. Jenson Button

7. Felipe Massa

8. Romain Grosjean

9. Jules Bianchi

10. Kevin Magnussen

11. Marcus Ericsson

12. Kimi Raikkonen

13. Kamui Kobayashi

14. Max Chilton

DNF. Esteban Gutierrez

DNF. Valtteri Bottas

DNF. Jean-Eric Vergne

DNF. Adrian Sutil

DNF. Daniil Kvyat

DNF. Sebastian Vettel

DNF. Sergio Perez

DNF. Pastor Maldonado