Home Latest News Ricciardo Wins Explosive Canadian GP

Ricciardo Wins Explosive Canadian GP


Ricciardo Wins Explosive Canadian GPThe Canadian Grand Prix never fails to create excitement. The high speed straights and notoriously tricky low speed corners of the Montreal circuit was again to act as the canvas for another gripping race. The track very much suited the ever dominant Mercedes cars of Rosberg and Hamilton, however, with a 55% chance of a safety car even before the lights went out, it was never going to be that simple. This Rosberg VS Hamilton battle boiled over in Monaco and with Nico again on pole for this race, Lewis was hungry to take back the championship lead. Ricciardo Wins Explosive Canadian GP.

Both Mercedes drivers made strong starts as they went wheel to wheel through the first corner. Rosberg emerged in front. Both Murussia cars collided on the opening lap bring out the safety car. The Mercs went on to battled it out leaving the rest of the field behind as we have seen since the beginning of 2014. First stops kept the running order as Rosberg leading Hamilton but the Brit started hunting down the German. Just as things were getting spicy both Mercedes cars suffered simultaneous hybrid MGU-K failures in effect reducing the cars power by around 160BHP. Second stops for these two saw Lewis Hamilton take the lead only to retire on the very next lap due to brake loss. Rosberg, with his power disadvantage was now being chased down by the following cars. The Force India of Perez closed the gap but with four laps to go the Red Bull of Daniel Ricciardo took second place. Daniel then dispatched of Rosberg and went on to win the race. That was not before a final lap 27G crash between Felipe Mass and Perez which was violent to the extreme. Both drivers were unharmed. Jenson Button managed to get his McLaren into 4th behind Vettel who finished 3rd.

Rosberg drove well considering his power disadvantage and retains the championship lead for now.

1. Daniel Ricciardo

2. Nico Rosberg

3. Sebastian Vettel

4. Jenson Button

5. Nico Hulkenberg

6. Fernando Alonso

7. Valtteri Bottas

8. Jean-Eric Vergne

9. Kevin Magnussen

10. Kimi Raikkonen

11. Sergio Perez

12. Felipe Massa

13. Adrian Sutil

DNF Esteban Gutierrez

DNF Romain Grosjean

DNF Daniil Kvyat

DNF Lewis Hamilton

DNF Kamui Kobayashi

DNF Pastor Maldonado

DNF Marcus Ericsson

DNF Max Chilton

DNF Jules Bianchi