Home Latest News Hamilton Wins Malaysian Grand Prix

Hamilton Wins Malaysian Grand Prix


Hamilton Wins Malaysian Grand PrixTodays race was a much drier affair in comparison to Saturday’s qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix which wasn’t too far from needing a lifeboat deployed. Other than a few spits and spats on the track, the race was dry. Again it was the silver cars asserting their dominance this time with a Mercedes one-two. Hamilton wins Malaysian Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton controlled the race from start to finish showing what a force the new 2014 Mercedes car is. Team mate Nico Rosberg, although at times struggled with tyre preservation, finished a comfortable 2nd. It was a 2014 malaysian GPchange of fortunes for Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel who failed to finish the first race. The German proved the Red Bull has come a long was since its traumatic testing finishing 3rd. Daniel Ricciardo, however, appears in have inherited Mark Webber’s bad luck as a puncture, insecure tyre, resulting penalty and broken front wing took him from 4th to the back of the pack. Then, to add insult to injury, his car was retired. Not the race he was looking for to put his disqualification in Australia behind him. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso finished a strong 4th whilst both McLaren’s appeared to struggle. Yet, the real drama was going on behind Jenson Button.

The Williams team showed their pace once again but a team order sent to Massa to allow Bottas through in order to attack Button was ignored. The pair clashed several times throughout the race and this is sure to build some tension within the team. Felipe Massa has had years of being told to move over at his previous team Ferrari, so it is maybe understandable his resilience to hand track position to his teammate.

A total of 7 cars did not finish the race bringing to light just how unpredictable Formula One 2014 is.


1. Lewis Hamilton

2. Nico Rosberg

3. Sebastian Vettel

4. Fernando Alonso

5. Nico Hulkenberg

6. Jenson Button

7. Felipe Massa

8. Valtteri Bottas

9. Kevin Magnussen

10. Daniil Kvyat


11. Romain Grosjean

12. Kimi Raikkonen

13. Kamui Kobayashi

14. Marcus Ericsson

15. Max Chilton


Rtd. Daniel Ricciardo

Rtd. Esteban Gutierrez

Rtd. Adrian Sutil

Rtd. Jean-Eric Vergne

Rtd. Jules Bianchi

Rtd. Pastor Maldonado

Dns. Sergio Perez