Home Latest News Rosberg Wins Home Grand Prix

Rosberg Wins Home Grand Prix


2014 German Grand Prix RosbergAfter a hugely dramatic qualifying yesterday which involved Lewis Hamilton crashing out at 130MPH, the stage was set for an interesting German Grand Prix. Hamilton took a further 5 place grid penalty, now starting in 20th, after a necessary gearbox change. To be honest, the Brit was lucky to be on the grid at all considering the damage done to his car. This only boosted Rosberg keeping his championship lead alive.

As the lights went out it was the pole position man in the second Mercedes that immediately attacked the first corner. However, a collision between Magsnussen and Felipe Massa resulted the Williams flipping upside-down thus bringing out a safety car. This was the end of Massa’s race but the McLaren continued on. Back at race pace Rosberg and his Mercedes held firm whilst the Williams of Bottas refused to fall too far behind. Hamilton was on a mission and quickly dispatched of the back runners setting about taking cars of McLaren, Red Bull and Ferrari. With daring moves at every corner as well as a smattering of contact, he fought his way up the grid. Alonso again got the most out of the struggling Ferrari finishing 5th whilst Daniel Kvyat burst into flames on lap 44. With a compromised strategy Hamilton managed to climb to 3rd where he finished behind Bottas. The Williams car once again proving that it is worthy of those Martini stripes. Vettel finished 4th ahead his team mate for once who came 6th.

Rosberg retains his Championship lead by winning on home soil, but Hamilton is only 14 points behind.

1. Nico Rosberg

2. Valtteri Bottas

3. Lewis Hamilton

4. Sebastian Vettel

5. Fernando Alonso

6. Daniel Ricciardo

7. Nico Hulkenberg

8. Jenson Button

9. Kevin Magnussen

10. Sergio Perez

11. Kimi Raikkonen

12. Pastor Maldonado

13. Jean-Eric Vergne

14. Esteban Gutierrez

15. Jules Bianchi

16. Kamui Kobayashi

17. Max Chilton

18. Marcus Ericsson

Rtd. Adrian Sutil

Rtd. Daniil Kvyat

Rtd. Romain Grosjean

Rtd. Felipe Massa