Home Latest News Hamilton Takes Championship Lead in Spain

Hamilton Takes Championship Lead in Spain


Bottas Williams Spanish GPFormula One returned to Europe for the Spanish Grand Prix bringing these new 2014 cars to the continent for the first time. Through practice and qualifying it was again clear the Mercedes cars have retained their advantage that has been seen since the beginning of the season. With Hamilton on pole with his teammate right along side, could anyone challenge the Silver Arrows? Hamilton Takes Championship Lead in Spain.

Four times world champion Sebastian Vettel may have started in 15th, but Daniel Ricciardo proved that the 2014 Red Bull has pace and so the Germans recovery to finished fourth was unsurprising. Ricciardo finished third. From the word go, Lewis Hamilton built up a huge lead from the rest of the pack, it was very much his race to lose. Williams again looked strong with Bottas holding third before yielding to the charging Red Bulls and settling for fifth. The teammate rivalry of Alonso and Raikkonen finally kicked off after some disappointing results from the past few races for the Finn. Ferrari, much like Mercedes last race, allowed their star drivers to battle it out. This was very much a struggle to see who would become the teams number one. After a good fight it was Alonso who won out with a thrilling overtake. Meanwhile, Rosberg was chasing down Hamilton and as the last laps ticked by, he was only getting closer. The Brit took victory, but given a few more laps, it might have been a different outcome. McLaren were again unimpressive…

This result sees Hamilton leapfrog Rosberg in the championship standings of which he now leads.

1. Lewis Hamilton

2. Nico Rosberg 

3. Daniel Ricciardo

4. Sebastian Vettel 

5. Valtteri Bottas 

6. Fernando Alonso 

7. Kimi Raikkonen 

8. Romain Grosjean 

9. Sergio Perez 

10. Nico Hulkenberg 

11. Jenson Button 

12. Kevin Magnussen 

13. Felipe Massa 

14. Daniil Kvyat

15. Pastor Maldonado 

16. Esteban Gutierrez 

17. Adrian Sutil 

18. Jules Bianchi 

19. Max Chilton 

20. Marcus Ericsson 

DNF Kamui Kobayashi
DNF Jean-Eric Vergne