Home Latest News Lewis Hamilton is 2014 Formula One World Champion

Lewis Hamilton is 2014 Formula One World Champion


Lewis Hamilton 2014 F1 world championIt was going to be one of two drivers by the end of this race that would be crowned Formula One World Champion. Team mates through karting in 1997, oh how history loves to repeat itself because here we are in 2014 and these two boys turned men are team mates once again. Fighting for glory, already constructors champions, today was all about Nico Rosberg VS Lewis Hamilton. The tension was tangible in the buildup to lights out, but once they did it would be a case of actions speaking louder than words.

Hamilton, after feeding back some minor issues on the practice start, launched towards the first corner from the seconds grid slot. It was a masterclass on how to get an F1 car in motion. Within seconds he was past his team mate with the potential of the title waiting at the finish. Rosberg filed in behind his British counterpart ensuring that should the opportunity arise to get past, he would take it. Both Red Bulls started from the pit lane due to having illegal cars during qualifying, but they quickly began to slice their way through the pack. The pace was intense and soon cars started to pit. Jenson Button put on a strong show once again in his McLaren, surely proving to the team that he should stay for 2015. Button even fended off his potential replacement, Alonso, as he completed his final race for Ferrari. After all had been said and done, it was Hamilton who continued to lead the race with Rosberg following, but the Williams cars had enough pace to apply pressure. Fate had something to say about Rosberg’s participation as in a very cruel turn of events his car started to fail. ERS stopped functioning reducing his cars output by 160BHP. Other issues arose but when told to retire the car, he requested that he at least finish the race. Hamilton gave himself enough breathing space between his car and Massa crossing the finish line as 2014 Formula World Champion.

Lewis Hamilton has hardly put a foot wrong the entire season, he is now a double world champion. In my eyes and decades of watching this sport, there has never been a more deserving winner. He is a fine example of what benefits hard work can offer.

1. Lewis Hamilton
2. Felipe Massa
3. Valtteri Bottas
4. Daniel Ricciardo
5. Jenson Button
6. Nico Hulkenberg
7. Sergio Perez
8. Sebastian Vettel
9. Fernando Alonso
10. Kimi Raikkonen
11. Kevin Magnussen
12. Jean-Eric Vergne
13. Romain Grosjean
14. Nico Rosberg
15. Esteban Gutierrez
16. Adrian Sutil
17. Will Stevens

Rtd Kamui Kobayashi
Rtd Pastor Maldonado
Rtd Daniil Kvyat